Welcome to the MUSIC AT LUNCHTIME website!

MUSIC AT LUNCHTIME is a series of concerts (not too heavy!) given at Farnham United Reformed Church, South Street, Farnham, Surrey, on Wednesdays, usually the first Wednesday of the month, from October until the Spring. Concerts start at 1.10 p.m. and finish round about 1.50 p.m.

There is no charge for admission to lunchtime concerts, but there is a retiring collection.

For a map showing the location of Farnham United Reformed Church click here.



Programme 2016-17:


Wednesday 5th October 2016 at 1.10 p.m.
Victoria Puttock, saxophone Grigoris Ioannou, piano

Classical saxophonist Victoria made her debut concerts in 2009 with Iberto Concertino da Camera. She has since given recitals in the V&A Museum, the Royal Albert Hall, Elgar Room, the National Maritime Museum and Cadogan Hall. Al;onside her solo appearances, Victoria plays in the Oracle Saxophone Quartet and the award-winning Borealis Saxophone Quartet.

For a review of the concert click here


Wednesday 2nd November 2016 at 1.10 p.m

Gillian Lloyd, organ

A favourite with Farnham audiences, Gillian makes a welcome return visit to our Music at Lunchtime concert series. In addition to being a concert soloist, Gillian is organist at Guildford United Reformed Church.

 For a review of the concert click here


Wednesday 7th December 2016 at 1.10 p.m
Diana Vivian, soprano Edward Reeve, piano

Diana is a well-known performer and teacher in the Farnham area. She has been a soloist with Scottish Opera and the European Chamber Opera. Diana is in demand as guest conductor with many operatic societies. We look forward to her giving us an interesting and varied programme.

For a review of the concert click here

Wednesday 1st February 2017 at 1.10 p.m

Students from Lord Wandsworth College

We always look forward to a concert given by these talented youong people under the guidance of their Director of Music, Lauren Griffin.

For a review of the concert click here

 Wednesday 1st March 2017 at 1.10 p.m

The Ishi Ensemble

The Ishi Ensemble is one of the few professional viola quintets in the country. They give regular concerts at home and abroad. The concert is likely to include music by Mendelssohn, Brahms and Samuel Rolles, who is a viola player in the Ensemble.


For a review of the concert click here


 Wednesday 3rd May 2017 at 1.10 p.m

 Students from Frensham Heights

Frensham Heights has a worthy reputation for excellence in the performing arts and we welcome music students under the direction of James Casselton, Director of Music.


Details of our concert season are posted on this site as soon as they are available, and also mailed to everybody on our mailing list, which is free, of course. If you wish your name to be added to, or removed from, the mailing list, click here, or telephone us at 01252 723548. Details of the programme are also available from the United Reformed Church in South Street, Farnham, Farnham Tourist Information Centre and Farnham Library.

Last minute alterations (if any) will be posted on this web site and notices will be displayed in the United Reformed Church.

To see reports of this and previous seasons' concerts click below:

If you have any suggestions or requests for these concerts, please get in touch by e-mail, post or telephone at the same address as our mailing list.

For details of our mailing list click here.

To see the specification of the Farnham United Reformed Church organ click here.

To visit the website of Farnham United Reformed Church click here.

To e-mail us click here.

Mailing List

Our mailing list is used for sending details of forthcoming concerts to persons who might be interested, and for no other purpose. We try to mail details of forthcoming concerts at least annually, before the new season starts in the Autumn.

We are always pleased to receive comments on any aspect of our programme, especially suggestions as to future activities.

If you wish your name to be added to, or removed from, our mailing list, or to make any comments, you can e-mail us by clicking here.

Alternatively, telephone us at 01252 726306.

Specification of the Organ

The organ was built in 1906 by Henry Jones & Sons, South Kensington, renovated in 1986 by Bishop and Sons and rebuilt in 2005/6 by James Richardson-Jones.

1 Double Diapason 16 10 Open Diapason 8 17 Open Diapason  16
2 Open Diapason  8 11 Dulciana  8 18 Bourdon  16
3 Viol di Gamba  8 12 Rohr Flute* 8 19 Bass Flute (from no 18)†  8
4 Vox Angelica  8 13 Harmonic Flute 4 20 Super Octave (from no 17)†  4
5 Lieblich Gedact  8 14 Principal  4    
6 Gemshorn  4 15 Fifteenth  2    
7 Harmonic Piccolo  2  16 Mixture II†      
8 Cornopean  8        
9 Oboe  8        
 Tremulant    Swell to Great     Swell to Pedals  
  Swell Octave         Great to Pedals  

Compass of Manuals C to g³, 56 notes

Compass of Pedals C to f¹, 30 notes

Mechanical action to manuals; electro-pneumatic action to pedals

Balanced Swell pedal†

* – misnomer for Clarabella

† – items new at the 1986 renovation

Return to the top of the page